Is iron oxide magnetic?

Like iron, iron oxide has magnetic properties. Iron has four unpaired electrons, whereas iron oxide has only two unpaired electrons. Because the unpaired electrons make a material magnetic, iron oxide is less magnetic than iron. Iron oxide is therefore called a paramagnetic material.