How long should shrimp cook?

Shrimp should be cooked until it is pink and opaque. This usually takes about 4 to 6 minutes in total. Start by cooking the shrimp on high heat in butter or olive oil. It will initially stick to the pan, but once it naturally releases about 2 minutes in, flip it over to finish on the other side.