How long do you let steak rest after cooking?

The time taken to rest will depend on its size, a roast is best rested for 10 to 20 minutes before carving. Steaks or chops should stand for 5 minutes before serving. A rule of thumb used by some chefs is 1 minute resting time for every 100g of meat.

---

You should allow a typical steak a minimum of 5-10 minutes to rest on a plate uncovered after removing it from the heat source. This will allow the muscle fibers to relax and help the meat to retain all of its juices.