Why are nightshades called nightshades?

It’s unclear exactly why they are called nightshade. Some say it’s from the deadly effects from ingesting them causes sensitivity to light and pupils to dilate and makes the person close their shades as they do at night and sit in the dark room in an attempt to get relief from the deadly poison.