Why do you eat apples and honey on rosh hashanah?

Rosh Hashanah – the Jewish New Year – is signified by indulging in a sweet treat. Traditionally, apples and honey have been the go-to sweet served at dinner tables for generations as they symbolize hope for the sweet year ahead. Many dip apple slices into honey on Rosh Hashanah for extra sweetness.