What is a magnetar?

A magnetar is an exotic type of neutron star, its defining feature is that it has an ultra-powerful magnetic field. The field is about 1,000 times stronger than a normal neutron star and about a trillion times stronger than the Earth's. Magnetars are, by far, the most magnetic stars in the universe.