How much skin is on the human body?

But skin isn't all "fleshy" stuff. As an organ, skin is made up of everything that covers one's body, including the nails and hair . In total, skin accounts for about 16 percent of a person's total body weight. Most adults' skin weighs in at 20 pounds or more.