Is a woodchuck and a groundhog the same animal?

Yes. The terms woodchuck and groundhog refer to the same type of animal. A woodchuck is one of the largest members of the rodent family of animals. They live in burrows nearby to open fields, pastures, hedgerows, or forest groves.