What animal has the loudest roar?

Lions have the loudest roar of any big cat. A lion's roar can reach 114 decibels at a distance of about 1 meter. This noise is comparable to a Vuvuzela or a not-too-far jet engine and is also louder than a jack hammer.

---

At 114 decibels, the roar of a lion is loudest of all wild cats in the world.