Where did amelia earhart go missing?

Amelia Earheart's final flight before she went missing was from Papa New Guinea to a small island called Howland Island. The flight was on the edge of the aircraft's range, and it is believed that she was unable to find the island, and subsequently crashed and sank in the ocean.