Is it normal for puppies to have hiccups?

Enter the hiccups, which occur when your pup's diaphragm becomes irritated, possibly from eating or drinking too fast. Nervousness or excitement can also cause hiccups in a puppy. Don't be alarmed by your pet's hiccups. Puppies tend to gulp a lot of air when they eat or drink.