What is daddy stand for?

What is daddy stand for? The first known record of the word dad, was around the year 1500. Scholars suggest that the origin of the word dad, actually comes from the first noises that babies make. Dad, or Dada, also sounds similar in many different languages. Aren't babies so cute?