What happened on august thirty first nineteen thirty nine?

On that date Operation Himmler took place in which Nazi Germany carried out false-flag attacks to give the appearance of Polish aggression against Germany. The Germans then used propaganda to justify the invasion of Poland which began on September 1st, 1939 starting the second world war.