How long are earthquakes?

Generally, most earthquakes last only few seconds. The larger the quake, the longer it may last. Quakes around magnitudes 5-6 often last up to 30 seconds. The very largest quakes can produce shaking that lasts several minutes, but these are fortunately extremely rare.