Why should dogs avoid asparagus?

According to the A.K.C., the vegetable asparagus is not toxic to dogs but poses a choking hazard and can cause vomiting, gas, diarrhea and foul smelling urine. The asparagus fern, which is a plant, is toxic for dogs and should be kept away from them.