What's jack short for?

While Jack is now a proper name in its own right, in English, it was traditionally used as a diminutive form of John. It can also be used as a diminutive for: Jacob,Jason,Jonathan, Jan, Johann, Johannes, Joachim & sometimes for James, from its French form Jacques, from Latin Jacobus. PerWikipedia