What is the cooking ingredient mase?

Mace is one of those spices we have heard of but aren't really sure what it is. It is actually the lacy coating (called the aril) that is found on a nutmeg seed. This lacy aril, which is red, is removed by hand from the outer shell of the nutmeg and then dried, becoming a yellowish-brown spice.