Why does ice expand when it freezes?

As a liquid, water molecules are constantly moving (forming and breaking hydrogen bonds) resulting in less expansion. When frozen, water molecules take a more defined shape and arrange themselves in six-sided crystalline structures. Thus water expands as it freezes, and ice floats atop water.