What's the difference in alzheimer's and dementia?

Dementia is a general term used to describe symptoms that affect memory, the performance of daily activities, and communication skills. Alzheimer's disease is the most common form of dementia. Alzheimer's disease worsens over time and affects memory, language and thinking.