Is mandrake real?

Mandrake is a real plant. It is a Mediterranean plant of the nightshade family, with white or purple flowers and large yellow berries. It has a forked fleshy root that supposedly resembles the human form and was formerly widely used in medicine and magic. It doesn't really scream, though.