What is d. fibrillation?

Defibrillation is a treatment for life-threatening cardiac irregular rhythms, specifically ventricular fibrillation and ventricular tachycardia or rapid heartbeat. A defibrillator delivers a dose of electric current to the heart to reset the rhythm to normal.