How did they invent slime?

Slime was invented by the toy company Mattel in 1976. They were searching for the grossest, ooziest, and most disgusting toy they could invent. Finally, Mattel's mad scientists came up with the disgustingly oozy green Slime. It was even sold in green garbage cans to make it even more disgusting.