What is d. n. i. stand for?

The meaning of the initials DNI depend on the context. Likely possibilities include Director of National Intelligence, Do Not Interact, Direct Neural Interface, Distributed Net Income, Drexel Nanotechnology Institute, Do Not Inventory, or Desktop Network Interface, but there are several others.