Who made the first hamburger?

The Library of Congress agrees it was Louis Lassen who invented the first burger when he put scraps of ground beef between slices of bread for fast, easy eating.

---

The Library of Congress agrees it was Louis Lassen who invented the burger when he put scraps of ground between slices of bread for fast, easy eating. Lassen's burgers are still served at Louis Lunch, a small hamburger shack in New Haven where Jeff Lassen is the 4th generation proprietor.