What is the science behind bleach?

Bleach works by releasing oxygen molecules. The oxygen molecules released by bleach break up the chemical bonds of chromophores. The changed chromophore molecules either reflect no color or a color outside the visible spectrum. This absence of color is seen by our eyes as white.