What happened to natalie holloway's killer?

While he was never tried for her murder, it is generally acknowledged that Joran Andreas Petrus van der Sloot Murdered Natalee Holloway. He is currently serving a 28 year sentence in Peru for the 2010 murder of Stephanie Flores Ramirez.