What does p stand for in p's and q's?

One idea is that "Ps and Qs" is short for "pleases" and "thank-yous", the latter pronounced like the letter "Q". Another proposal is from the English taverns of the 17th century: bartenders would keep watch over the pints and quarts consumed by the patrons, telling them to "mind their Ps and Qs".