What is an exotic animal?

An exotic can be any animal other than a dog, cat or typical livestock animal like a horse, cow or goat. Hamsters, rabbits, rats, ferrets, mice, reptiles, etc... are all classified as "exotic" in the veterinary world.

---

An exotic animal is one you would traditionally think of as wild rather than a pet. Animals that might fall under that category are tarantulas, snakes, hedgehogs, monkeys, and kangaroos. Common exotic birds are the Macaw, lorikeet, and peacock.