What does ship high in transit mean?

Ship High In Transit (or a History Lesson) ... were always stamped with the term "Ship High In Transit" on them which meant for the sailors to stow it high enough off the lower decks so that any water that came into the hold would not touch this volatile cargo and start the production of methane.