Is there such thing as one thousand dollar bills?

Yes. The Treasury Department stopped circulating large denomination bills in 1945 and were discontinued in 1969. This included bills such as $500, $1000, $10,000 and $100,000. All but the $100,000 bill are legitimate legal tender.