What happened in twenty eleven?

The intense heat moved eastwards and peaked along the US I-95 corridor on July 22, 2011, with Central Park in New York City breaking the record for the day at 104 °F (40 °C) or more in the interior of city which was the hottest temperature the city had experienced in over three decades.