How fast do satellites fly?

The orbital velocity of the satellite depends on its altitude above Earth. The nearer to Earth, the faster the required orbital velocity. At an altitude of 124 miles or 200 kilometers, the required orbital velocity is a little more than 17,000 miles per hour or about 27,400 kilometers per hour.