How strong are the wings?

Aircraft wings can flex much more than most people realize. During testing, the Boeing 787 wings flexed 26 feet upward before failing. Aircraft designers calculate the maximum stress they anticipate a wing will experience in flight, then make it able to withstand 50% more as a safety margin.