How did california become part of the united states?

The United States won California and several other states in the Mexican American War. It was ceded to the US by the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo, which was signed in 1848, mere days before gold was discovered at Sutter’s Mill. Just two years later, in 1850, California officially became a state.