Why do they call stink bugs stink bugs?

Stink bugs get their name from the unpleasant odor they produce when they are threatened. Scientists think this odor helps protect the bugs against predators. The stink bugs produce the smelly chemical in a gland on their abdomen. Some species can actually spray the chemical several inches.