How fast does rain come down?

The answer to this question depends on many factors, such as the size of the drop, the altitude, and barometric pressure in the area where the rain is falling. generally, At sea level, a large raindrop, about 5 millimeters across , falls at the rate of 9 meters per second or about 20 miles per hour