What is ring around the rosie based off of?

Ring around the Rosie is a children’s song based on the bubonic plaque. The “ring around the rosie” describes the sore’s appearance and a “pocketful of posie” was thought to provide protection. The next line “atishoo, atishoo we all fall down” signifies sneezing and eventual death from the plaque.