How much is a thumb of ginger?

If a recipe calls for a thumb of ginger, it usually means a piece that is about 5 centimeters (2 inches) long, 1.5 centimeters (0.6 inches) in diameter. A 1 inch piece of raw ginger with a 1 inch diameter, yields about 1.1 tablespoons and chopped weighing about 26oz.