What is sirloin mean?

In American butchery, the sirloin steak is cut from the sirloin, the subprimal posterior to the short loin where the T-bone, porterhouse, and club steaks are cut. In British butchery, the word sirloin refers to cuts of meat from the upper middle of the animal, similar to the American short loin.