How long does it take for a redwood tree to grow?

Both coast redwood and Sierra redwood grow at a moderate rate, which means they gain between 12 and 24 inches of height in a single growing season. The coast redwood, on average, can reach heights of 120 feet and live for several hundred years. Some even live to be thousands of years old.