How long are potatoes supposed to boil?

Boil 10 to 12 minutes for cubed, 15 to 20 for whole medium-sized, or 25 to 30 for whole russets. Check with a fork or knife. Potatoes are done when they are tender enough that a utensil easily slides into the middle.