What is the definition of osmosis?

Osmosis is the spontaneous passage or diffusion of water or other solvents through a semipermeable membrane.

---

Osmosis is a process by which molecules of a solvent tend to pass through a semipermeable membrane from a less concentrated solution into a more concentrated one.