What's the definition of a cup?

A cup can be a small bowl-shaped container for drinking from, typically having a handle; or; an ornamental trophy in the form of a cup, usually made of gold or silver and having a stem and two handles, awarded as a prize in a contest. It is also a measuring device, with 1 cup equalling 8 ounces.