How big is a hot air balloon?

A typical balloon is about 55 feet across and 60 to 80 feet tall, but of course, it depends on what the balloon looks like. Balloons shaped like cartoon characters or animals can be much larger.

---

Sizes vary from a one or two-person to up to 8 or more passengers. There must also be room for compressed fuel tanks, more fuel for more people or longer distance traveled. The balloon envelope can be quite large for heavy loads.