How much alcohol is in a shot?

Since a "shot" is typically a spirit with 40 percent alcohol, this makes the shot 1.5 imp fl oz or 42.6 ml (though many establishments serve a "standard drink" of 1 oz). A double shot in North America may be either 2.5 or 3 fluid ounces.