Do skunks eat birds?

While most of the skunk diet is insect-based, these animals may also devour small, relatively helpless animal prey, as well. Field mice, voles and rabbits may all be targeted by skunks, as well as ground-nesting birds. Skunks may even eat the eggs or flightless young of ground-nesting birds.