When can you see the northern lights in alaska?

In 2020, the Spring Equinox occurs on March 19, and there is a new moon on March 24, so this would be a great time to visit. For the same reason, a new moon on September 17 means that mid-to-late September 2020 would also be a great time to go on a northern lights hunt to Alaska.