What is the movie the bad seed about?

The Bad Seed is a 1956 horror film about a single mother who discovers that her seemingly angelic young daughter is actually a cold-blooded serial murderer. It was remade in 1985 and 2018. It is not to be confused with the 2018 Netflix film, Bad Seeds, a comedy about a substitute teacher.