How does a tesla coil work?

The massive amount of energy makes the magnetic field collapse quickly, and generates an electric current in the secondary coil. The voltage zipping through the air between the two coils creates sparks in the spark gap. The principle behind the Tesla coil is to achieve a phenomenon called resonance.