What is the barbary coast?

The term Barbary Coast was used by Europeans from the 16th century to the early 19th to refer to the coastal regions of North Africa, which were inhabited by Berber people. There is also an area of San Francisco called the Barbary Coast. It was so-named in the 1860s by sailors after the original one